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The List

Digital marketing & website development terms & definitions

1

A/B testing

A/B (or split) testing is a process of making changes to a campaign, page or other marketing material and measuring to see if that change improves results. Typically, you'd want to change just one element at a time so that you could identify which change caused the impact.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

2

Accessibility

Accessibility in web and digital marketing refers to websites that are accessible for people with disabilities. For example, the text is easy to read, text-alternatives exist for users that can't see images and form inputs are properly labelled, among other things.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

3

Acquisition source

The acquisition source of a user is where the user came from when first visiting your website. This could be a social media post, a search engine, coming to the site directly, paid ads, another website or something else.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/07/22

4

Ad campaigns

Ad campaigns refer to a collection of ads and targeting settings. In an ad account, you can often have multiple campaigns - each one designed to target different groups of people.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/07/22

5

Ad extensions

Ad extensions can be added to paid Google Ads to add extra content and increase the size of your ad.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/06/22

6

Algorithm

An algorithm refers to a software program or function that performs a specific function, such as Google search's algorithm which takes in a search query and returns a list of results.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/08/22

7

Alt text

Image alt (alternative) text should be added to every image on a webpage for the purpose of making them accessibility to individuals with visual disabilities.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/06/22

8

Anchor text

Anchor text is the visible text of a link on a webpage. It is often formatted differently than regular text to stand out and indicate that it's a link.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/06/22

9

Attribution model

Attribution model (or modeling) is a framework for analyzing which touch points, channels or assets receive credit for a conversion.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/07/22

10

Audience insights

Audience insights is a Facebook ad tool that helps you select and target specific groups of people for your ad.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/08/22

11

Automation

Marketing automation refers to software and tools that help you automate repetitive tasks. One example would be if a user submitted their email address for access to a lead magnet on your site and you have an email platform set up to automatically send them a followup marketing email.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

12

B2B

Business-to-business (B2B) companies are those that sell products to other companies or organizations.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

13

B2C

Business-to-consumer (B2C) companies are those that sell products or services directly to individuals and consumers.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

14

Backlink

A backlink is a link from another website to your website. They are important for SEO and would be part of an off-page optimization campaign.

Digital Marketing

definition

seo

08/05/22

15

Black hat

Black hat refers to unethical SEO practices. This could be keyword stuffing or trying to negatively impact competitor sites.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/06/22

16

Blacklist

Blacklists are lists that major email clients use and refer to in spam detection. If your email or domain gets added to a blacklist, it will be difficult or impossible to send emails to your prospects or even existing clients.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

17

Bounce rate

Bounce rate measures the percentage of users that "bounce off" of your website or, simply, visit a page on your site and leave without visiting a secondary page or taking any other action.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

18

Brand awareness

Brand awareness refers to how much individuals are familiar with and recognize your brand. Awareness increases trust in potential customers

Digital Marketing

definition

08/06/22

19

Brand loyalty

Brand loyalty refers to the positive attitude and conviction that a customer has toward a brand.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/06/22

20

Buyer's journey

The buyer's journey is the process that a user goes through from awareness of a product or service to the actual purchase. It often includes 3 general phases - awareness, consideration an decision.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

21

CAC

Customer acquisition cost (CAC) is the average cost of all activities required to acquire a customer.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/04/22

22

Churn rate

Church rate refers to the amount of customers a company loses during a certain period of time. Gaining new customers is great unless you're losing as many existing customers.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

23

Click map

A click map refers to a geographic representation of where visitors click on your webpage.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/07/22

24

Clickbait

Clickbait is content often in the form of a headline on an ad or post that hooks people and convinces them to click. It typically has a negative connotation because it's not usually an accurate representation of the content on the main page.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

25

Closed-loop marketing

Closed-loop marketing occurs when the sales team reports back to the marketing team the end result of the leads they received. The marketing team can they modify their activities based on the ability of previous efforts to product customers

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

26

CLV

Customer lifetime value (CLV) is the amount of revenue that a single customer generates for your business during their lifetime.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/04/22

27

CMS

A content management system (CMS) is software that manages and allows you to make changes to content specifically for a website.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/04/22

28

Competitive analysis

Competitive analysis refers to the process of researching and analyzing your companies competitors - strengths, weaknesses, demographics, strategies and more.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/07/22

29

Content

Content is any form of material or asset that you share on your website, social media, YouTube, or other medium. Content on your website could look like many things such as text, images and charts in a blog post.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

30

Content marketing

Content marketing refers to the creation and distribution of material online. Content can include assets such as blog posts, social media posts, charts, ebooks and more.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/07/22

31

Conversion path

The conversion path is the series of events that led a user from awareness of your brand to converting or committing an action on your website or social media accounts.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

32

Conversion rate

Conversion rate is the percentage of users that take a certain action. For example, if your goal is to have users sign up for your newsletter and for every 10 visitors of your webpage you receive 1 new signup, your conversion rate would be 10%.

Digital Marketing

definition

cro

08/04/22

33

CPC

Cost per click (CPC) is the ratio of ad cost to number of clicks received. If you spend $100 on a campaign and you get 20 clicks, your CPC would be $5.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/04/22

34

CPD

Clicks-per-delivered (CPD) refers to the number of clicks that your email campaign receives compared to the number of emails that were successfully delivered to their intended recipients.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

35

CPM

Cost per mille (CPM) refers to the cost of running a campaign per 1,000 impressions received.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/04/22

36

CPO

Clicks-per-open (CPO) refers to the number of clicks your email campaign receives compared to the number of emails that were opened by their recipients.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

37

Crawler

A web crawler refers to a bot on the internet that scans websites. Search engines like Google have crawlers that are scanning the internet 24/7. Other sites that have an interest in internet data crawl the internet often as well.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/07/22

38

CRM

Customer relationship management (CRM) is software that helps you manage your customers and prospects. Many CRMs come with tools that help you to populate user lists, save data, launch email campaigns and track communications with the customer.

Digital Marketing

definition

crm

08/04/22

39

CRO

Conversion rate optimization is the practice of improving the percentage of users who sign up, purchase or complete the desired conversion action.

Digital Marketing

definition

cro

08/04/22

40

Crowdsourcing

Crowdsourcing is the process of leveraging groups of people for a certain goal such as raising money or filling out a poll on social media.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

41

CSS

CSS stands for cascading style sheets and is a programming language used for adding style and formatting to HTML on webpages.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

42

CTA

A call-to-action (CTA) is a plea or call for users to take certain actions. This could be to fill out and submit a form, click a link, subscribe to a newsletter, or many other things.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

43

CTR

Clickthrough rate is the percentage of clicks to impressions that a campaign receives. If 10 people saw your campaign and 1 person clicked on it then your CTR would be 10%.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/04/22

44

Customer acquisition

Customer acquisition includes the sales and marketing activities undertaken to obtain a customer.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/04/22

45

Customer pain point

A customer pain point refers to a specific problem or issue that potential customers of a business are experiencing.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/07/22

46

Customer segmentation

Customer (or market) segmentation is the process of categorizing customers based on different criteria such as needs, interests, budget or more. This allows you to target assets to specific groups of people.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

47

Dashboard

A dashboard typically refers to a view or source where you can review an overview key data, metrics, and performance related to the technology.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/07/22

48

Digital marketing

Digital marketing refers to marketing techniques that are purely online as opposed to traditional marketing methods such as print, billboards and direct mail.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/07/22

49

Double opt-in

A double opt-in is when a user signs up for an email newsletter, and then they receive a followup email to confirm their subscription to the list. Double opt-ins help to confirm the validity of emails and improve the health of an email list.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

50

Drip campaign

A drip campaign is an automated series of emails sent to nurture a lead after they perform a conversion activity.

Digital Marketing

definition

08/05/22

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